Title Stays In Raleigh – NC State Wins ACC Tournament

Jim Quist @ACCTheQ –

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

The level of play in ACC women’s basketball continues to rise precipitously. The quality and quantity of said was on full display. It all began last Wednesday as the ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament got underway. It came to a thrilling conclusion Sunday in a battle between two Top 5 collegiate programs. Ultimately, NC State won the battle with Louisville. The Wolfpack took home the ACC title for the second year in a row.

If you didn’t have an opportunity to watch the championship tilt on Sunday, indulge in 2:40 of pure hoops magic.

Watch The Entire Game Here

Title Stays In Raleigh

Louisville got off to a fast start and put NC State in a corner to start the game. It didn’t take long for the Pack to respond. Behind the play of center Elissa Cunane, point guard Raina Perez, and Kayla Jones NC State recovered.

Cunane, averaged better than 23 points and 9 rebounds over three games in the tournament. She was named the ACC Tournament’s Most Valuable Player. She was the only Wolfpack player to score in double figures in this low scoring event.

Jones was key in working the boards and coming down with 10 rebounds.

Perez put the cherry on top of the sundae with her top of the key shot. It put NC State ahead 58-56 and left little time for the Cardinals to work with.

Maybe, Maybe, Maybe

Louisville took a time out. Kianna Smith had her initial toss in knocked out of bounds with the clock still at 1.3 seconds. The second attempt put the ball into the hands of the ACC Player of the Year, Dana Evans. Evans launched a three pointer that would have won the game.

The shot bounced off the rim as the buzzer sounded ending the game.

Have You Subscribed To ACC Nation Podcast Yet?

All-ACC Tournament Players

  • First Team
  • Elissa Cunane, NC State (MVP)
  • Kai Crutchfield, NC State
  • Dana Evans, Louisville
  • Kianna Smith, Louisville
  • Hailey Van Lith, Louisville
  • Second Team
  • Lorela Cubaj, Georgia Tech
  • Emily, Engstler, Syracuse
  • Elizabeth Kitley, Virginia Tech
  • Jewel Spear, Wake Forest
  • Cameron Swartz, Boston College

Selection Monday is on March 15 and will be broadcast at 7:00pm ET on ESPN. All of this year’s NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament will be played in San Antonio area. First round play is on Sunday, March 21 and Monday, March 22. The complete schedule (including tv coverage) is available here.