NCAA Woman Of The Year

Carta And Schriever

The ACC has sixteen athletes from twelve conference schools that have been nominated for this year’s NCAA Woman of the Year award. This year finds a record 585 individuals named by their schools. The nominees come from across all three NCAA Divisions. The award recognizes graduating athletes who have distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership.

This year’s list includes representatives of ten sports in the ACC. Overall, nominees competed in twenty three different sports. The predominant category from the conference this year is track and field. That includes cross country, indoor and outdoor competition.

In addition to the track and field the following fields are represented –

  • Volleyball
  • Lacrosse
  • Golf
  • Basketball
  • Field Hockey
  • Softball
  • Swimming and Diving
  • Gymnastics*

*A number of ACC schools compete in the East Atlantic Gymnastics League (EAGL).

The award, established in 1991 often finds more than one nominee from a school. That is no exception this year within the ACC. Four schools, Pitt, Syracuse, Miami and NC State each nominated two student-athletes for the award.

Not every school in the conference, or for that matter across the NCAA nominate an athlete ever year. That’s the case again this year.

Division I provides the greatest number of nominees with 262. That’s followed by Division III with 192 and Division II with 131. A total of 144 individuals are multi sport athletes.

NCAA Woman Of The Year

The ACC Nominees

  • Kamalani Akeo, Pitt
  • Sam Apuzzo, Boston College
  • Virginia Elena Carta, Duke
  • Asia Durr, Louisville
  • Santita Ebangwese, Syracuse
  • Morgan Goetz, North Carolina
  • Samantha Gonzalez, Miami
  • Jessica Harris, Notre Dame

NCAA Woman

The ACC Nominees

  • Emese Hof, Miami
  • Meghan Christine King, Florida State
  • Jennifer Kupcho, Wake Forest
  • Hannah Moore, NC State
  • Amy Ruiz, Georgia Tech
  • Gillian Schriever, Pitt
  • Paige Stoner, Syracuse
  • Margaret Tamburro, NC State*

THC Testing Threshold Increases – Read More

The Process

Taking the list above the ACC will choose two conference nominees. Those two along with a number from other conferences will eventually develop into the Top 30. That includes 10 from each Division.

The next step in the process pairs nominees down to 3 from each Division.

In September, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will choose from among nine finalists the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

The NCAA will honor the Top 30 and announce the award winner October 20th in Indianapolis.

Follow ACCNation.Net On Twitter, Instagram And Facebook