NCAA – Heels Field Hockey Champions


Thanksgiving dinner will taste just a bit better for North Carolina’s field hockey team this year. They come home champions following a 2-0 shutout of Maryland. The 2018 NCAA Field Hockey Championship game on Sunday in Louisville put the perfect ending on the team’s season.

In early November four teams, North Carolina, Duke, Wake Forest and Virginia, earned bids to the NCAA Tournament. The Heels and Blue Devils were seeded #1 and #4 and hosted sites while the Deacs and Cavaliers earned at-large-berths.

Virginia fell in the first round of the tournament to Princeton, 2-1. In the second round, Duke fell to Wake Forest, 1-0 in double overtime.

North Carolina won in the first round with a 4-0 decision over William & Mary. In the second round, the Tar Heels knocked off Michigan, 5-2.

NCAA – Heels Field Hockey Champions

The conference streak of 29-straight years with a team reaching the semi-finals continued as Wake Forest and North Carolina advanced. The Friday showdown ended 4-0 in favor of the Heels. Later in the afternoon, Maryland struggled to put Princeton away before grabbing a 1-0 decision in overtime.

A championship match between the two teams isn’t something new. It was the seventh time since 1987 that the two have battled it out for the title.

  • 1987  Maryland 2-1  OT
  • 1993  Maryland 2-1  OT *PS
  • 1995  North Carolina  5-1
  • 2009  North Carolina  3-2
  • 2010  Maryland  3-2  OT2
  • 2011  Maryland 3-2  OT
  • 2018  North Carolina  2-0

It was the 10th shutout for North Carolina this season. Goalkeeper Amanda Hendry delivered on defense with a season high six saves.

On offense, Megan DuVernois worked a pass from Meredith Sholder into the goal for the first Tar Heel score. Erin Matson notched her third goal in two games and 20th of the season when she punched in the second score of the game at the 4:30 mark of the first half.

NCAA – Heels Field Hockey Champions

North Carolina’s Ashley Hoffman was named the Most Outstanding Player joining three of her team mates on the All-Tournament team.

  • Veerle Bos  Wake Forest
  • Jule Grashoff  Wake Forest
  • Elise Wong  Princeton
  • Julianna Tornetta  Princeton
  • Linnea Gonzales  Maryland
  • Bibi Donraadt  Maryland
  • Nike Lorenz  Maryland
  • Erin Matson  North Carolina
  • Ashley Hoffman  North Carolina
  • Eva van’t Hoog  North Carolina
  • Amanda Hendry  North Carolina

Watch highlights from the 2018 NCAA Field Hockey Championship –

Heard this week’s episode of the ACC Nation Podcast? Be sure to subscribe.