NCAA Cross Country Championships

NCAA Cross Country

The ACC Cross Country Championships finished with Notre Dame men and NC State women winning titles. Among individual competitors, Peter Seufer of Virginia Tech and Dorcas Wasike of Louisville took home the honors. Looming on the horizon, the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Following NCAA Regional competition the ACC will send four men’s and four women’s teams to the championships.

This year’s host, the University of Wisconsin-Madison has a cold reception in store for runners but there’s not much they can do about it. The weather forecast for Saturday, November 17 calls for a chance of snow and a high of 32. *Editor’s update (11/15) NWS Madison calling for a 30% chance of snow showers before noon, mostly cloudy, high 34 with winds from the north at 5-10mph.

When it comes to Division I teams qualifying for the championship there are a total of 31 teams in both men’s and women’s competition. The top two teams from regional competition automatically move on to the championships. There are a total of 18 teams (nine regions) along with 13 at-large qualifiers.

Thirty-eight individuals were chosen for each championship either as an automatic or an at-large qualifier. Each of the individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 of their respective regions.

The aforementioned Seufer and Wasike are among the individual performers qualifying from regional competition. Seven conference runners, the majority on the women’s side qualified to advance to the national cross country championships.

NCAA Cross Country Championships Qualifiers – Individuals

Southeast Regional (Men)

  • Brent Demarest – Virginia
  • Peter Seufer – Virginia Tech
NCAA Cross Country
Courtesy: ACC

Mid Atlantic Regional (Women)

  • Sam Shields – Pitt

Northeast Regional (Women)

  • Shannon Malone – Syracuse

Southeast Regional (Women)

  • Logan Morris – Clemson
  • Dorcas Wasike – Louisville
  • Abigail Green – Virginia
NCAA Cross Country
Courtesy: ACC

NCAA Cross Country Championships Qualifiers – The Teams

Men’s Qualifiers

  • Florida State
  • NC State
  • Notre Dame
  • Syracuse

Women’s Qualifiers

  • Florida State
  • NC State
  • Georgia Tech *At Large
  • Notre Dame *At Large

Starting Box Assignments

The NCAA Cross Country Championship gets underway at 11:45am ET with the women’s competition. The men’s race follows at 12:45pm ET. Admission to the event is $10 (cash only) but if you’re like most conference fans (who won’t be travelling) you can still watch both races. A monthly subscription fee will provide access to FloTrack Pro (FAQ).

More ACC Nation   Podcast   Sports News   Basketball   Football   Baseball