Hokies Wrestling Takes Down ACC

Wrestling Hokies

Hokies Wrestling Takes Down ACC

Virginia Tech wrestling will go into NCAA competition on a strong note as the Hokies won their second straight ACC Championship this weekend. The team delivered 81 points during Saturday’s matches to push past second place NC State’s 73. North Carolina grabbed third place followed by Duke, Virginia and Pitt.

The Hokies also picked up four individual titles in the competition held at Carmichael Arena in Chapel Hill. Dennis Gustafson topped the 133 weight class, Brent Moore won the 141, David McFadden was first in the 165 and Jared Haught took the 197.

Moore was named the Most Valuable Wrestler for the tournament. He went 2-0 with a win over North Carolina’s A.C. Headlee and 6-4 overtime victory over two-time defending champion Kevin Jack of NC State.

Gustafson ended his ACC career with an 11-7 decision over Virginia’s Jack Mueller who was up 7-5 with a minute left in the third period.

McFadden ran his season’s record to 31-0 with a decisive 22-9 win over Duke’s Zach Finesilver. It is the first ACC title for the Hokie redshirt sophomore.

Haught took five tiebreaker periods to defeat second seed Michael Macchiavello of NC State. With a reversal in the final, Haught had a reversal to make it 6-3.  Macchiavello escaped but the extra point wasn’t enough to prevent Haught from defending his title.

Virginia Tech qualified eight wrestlers for the NCAA Championship during the conference tournament. The number ties the same amount the Hokies sent in 2015-2016.

  • Dennis Gustafson
  • Brent Moore
  • David McFadden
  • Jared Haught
  • Ryan Blees
  • Hunter Bolen
  • Zack Zavatsky
  • Andrew Dunn

ACC Championship Finals Results

125—Sean Fausz (ST) d. Louis Hayes (UVA) 4-0

133—Dennis Gustafson (VT) d. Jack Mueller (UVA), 11-7

141—Brent Moore (VT) d. Kevin Jack (ST), 6-4, SV-1

149—Troy Heilmann (UNC) d. Ryan Blees (VT), 3-1

157—Hayden Hidlay (ST) d. Mitch Finesilver (DU), 3-2

165—David McFadden (VT) major d. Zach Finesilver, 22-9

174—Ethan Ramos (UNC) d. Hunter Bolen (VT), 10-6

184—Pete Renda (ST) d. Zack Zavatsky (VT), 4-0

197—Jared Haught (VT) d. Michael Macchiavello (ST), 6-4, tiebreaker 2

285—Jacob Kasper (DU) d. Cory Daniel (UNC), 8-4

2018 All-ACC Wrestling Team

Louis Hayes, Virginia (125)

Sean Fausz, NC State (125)

Jack Mueller, Virginia (133)

Dennis Gustafson, Virginia Tech (133)

Kevin Jack, NC State (141)

Brent Moore, Virginia Tech (141)

Troy Heilmann, North Carolina (149)

Ryan Blees, Virginia Tech (149)

Hayden Hidlay, NC State (157)

Mitch Finesilver, Duke (157)

David McFadden, Virginia Tech (165)

Zach Finesilver, Duke (165)

Hunter Bolen, Virginia Tech (174)

Ethan Ramos, North Carolina (174)

Zack Zavatsky, Virginia Tech (184)

Pete Renda, NC State (184)

Jared Haught, Virginia Tech (197)

Michael Macchiavello, NC State (197)

Jacob Kasper, Duke (285)

Cory Daniel, North Carolina (285)

The NCAA Wrestling Championships will be held in Cleveland, March 15-17.

More ACC Nation: Sports    Podcast    Basketball    Football    Soccer    Baseball